Where do our schools come from?

Where do our schools come from?

It’s a question we’re asked regularly: which schools are involved in the Energy Breakthrough? … and where do they come from? Here’s some quick stats we’ve prepared and an interactive map to help paint the picture of the school communities who are #poweredbyimagination!

How many?

This year’s Energy Breakthrough has 365 teams from 155 schools and organisations. There is a great spread of regional and rural schools continuing to be engaged from Yarrawonga to Mildura, to Hamilton and Bairnsdale, too.

Who is new around here?

This year, we welcome five new schools and organisations as first-timers: Bendigo Homeschool Co-op, Mount Beauty Secondary College, Mount Pleasant Primary School, Nelson Park School and Pearcedale Primary School.

Who has had the longest continuous participation?

That would be Maryborough Education Centre – probably no surprises there! They have been involved in every edition since 1991. But so too have Morwell Park Primary School with their ever-present ‘Katchmii’ teams in the Human Powered Vehicle Primary class.

Who is travelling the furthermost distance?

James Sheahan Catholic High School, from Orange in NSW. That’s around 800 kilometres each way! Special mention to St Joseph’s PS in Red Cliffs, St Joseph’s College and Chaffey College in Mildura (400kms) and Bairnsdale PS (450 kms).

Who is the closest? 

Look, it’s pretty close to call! St Augustine’s Primary School in Maryborough is roughly 1200 metres from the event site! Whilst Highview College in Maryborough is around 1400 metres. Do we call it a tie?


Want to still get involved?

  • If you have new Primary School aged students keen and willing to participate, check out the Innovations In Technology category. They are super fun and have lower barriers to entry than our Human Powered and Energy Efficient vehicle categories.
    Ask Us How via our Contact Us page.
  • If you’d like to Volunteer with us. Please get in touch via our Volunteer page.
View 2018 Entry Lists
By |2018-10-24T09:18:25+00:00October 23rd, 2018|Generally Newsworthy|4 Comments

About the Author:

Nigel Preston is a self-confessed 'HPV Tragic'. After 'catching the bug' from his older brother, he helped launch the RACV Energy Breakthrough program at Eaglehawk SC with his dad and some mates way back in 1998. Having participated in the RACV EB for four years he finished his VCE in 2001 and volunteering to help with the event management straight away. He's been helping out ever since. Nigel has also been a part of teams that have taken line honours at the RACV EB in 2000 & 2001 (Bendigo Senior SC); the Australian International Pedal Prix 2003, 2004 & 2009 (Bendigo Youth Racing).


  1. Peter Levey October 23, 2018 at 7:02 pm - Reply

    Hi Nigel,
    Sorry you forgot to mention from Mildura, Chaffey Secondary College.
    Ruffled a few student feathers here 🙁
    Team Manager

    • Nigel Preston October 24, 2018 at 9:19 am - Reply

      Hi Peter!
      Thanks for your message and sorry to miss you. All fixed and included now!
      ~ Nigel @ EB HQ

  2. Thea Allan November 23, 2018 at 4:57 pm - Reply

    Schools from Pecos New Mexico and somewhere in the South of England would have to be furthest travellers.

    • Nigel Preston November 27, 2018 at 1:39 pm - Reply

      True Thea, we have had international teams in the past. This map is for our 2018 entrants only.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.