The Jayco Herald Sun Tour HPV demonstration was a fantastic success, with 22 vehicles from 10 teams taking on the tight 1.6km circuit. (If you have any images from the day, please email them to:

The event was co-ordinated by Ernest Litera of the RACV, John Perrin of the Casey-Cardinia HPV & Cycling Club, Ewan Cole from Wonthaggi, Martin Mark from the Central Goldfields Shire and Nigel Preston & John Stafford from the Country Education Project and the Energy Breakthrough.

All were thrilled with the interest generated by the vehicles racing around Carlton, as many people enjoyed a latte in the cafes along Lygon, Faraday, Gratton, Cardigan and Queensberry streets.

ÒThe opportunity to take part in such a massive day is really appreciated by this co-op of organisers and the teams.Ó Nigel Preston said. ÒIt was great to see so many people watching the demonstration and then coming and asking questions afterwards.Ó

The demonstration was allowed a 1 hour slot in the dayÕs program and the teams are to be commended for their willingness to set-up pit lane and assist with marshalling.

Despite a 6am meeting time, the HPV teams all performed well during the event which started at 10:20 and ran until 11:05. With the finals of the Victorian Schools Cycling Championships running late before hand, the pressure was on to conduct a slick operation.

ÒThere were no grizzles, everyone was really pleased to be there and the set-up/pack-up of pit straight was just exceptional.Ó Nigel said. ÒA big thank you to all of the teams who took time out to travel in for the early morning start, assist with marshalling, lap counting and conduct the event in such good spirits.Ó

The demo itself was an action packed affair, with every team required to pit every three laps. Most teams made it through all 4 riders and were into their second cycle when the bell was rung for 1 lap to go.

Berwick SCÕs Firetruck, Weeroona CollegeÕs Silver Bullet and Bendigo Youth RacingÕs BY-06 were all within 200 metres for the duration of the event, although it was Berwick SC who crossed the line first, ahead of Weeroona and Bendigo Youth Racing.

In the all-girls category, St MargaretÕs SchoolÕs ÒSomething BlondeÓ were unfazed in their hot pink machines flying through to take the flag. St Margarets, Weeroona College, Wonthaggi SC and Melbourne Girls College all entered girls squads.

Trophies, specially crafted by Josh Pell Designs for this event, were awarded to Berwick SC and St MargaretÕs, but at the risk of being corny the real winners of the day was the sport of HPV in Victoria. Not only did the demonstration event raise awareness within the wider cycling fraternity, it created an opportunity for the teams to have a chat away from a serious race weekend.

ÒThe Jayco Herald Sun Tour organisers are to be congratulated for hosting such an outstanding event Ð not just on Saturday, but for the whole week Ð and we are extremely grateful that we were able to take part in their festival.Ó Nigel Preston concluded.

The big-guns flew around the circuit from 2pm in the afternoon, with Robbie McEwen winning the spirit for the line and Simon Gerrans taking overall Tour honours with a third place. The crowd at the finish line was 6-8 rows deep.

The participating teams (in no particular order):

  • Something Blonde from St Margarets

  • My Others Sisters Blonde – St Margarets
  • Firetruck – Berwick Secondary College
  • Firestorm – Berwick Secondary College
  • Dash – Beaconsfield
  • Ozito – Mount Eliza Secondary College
  • Wonthaggi Sorcerer – Wonthaggi Secondary College
  • Wonthaggi Wizard – Wonthaggi Secondary College
  • BY-06 – Bendigo Youth Racing Inc
  • Silver Bullet – Weeroona College Bendigo
  • Fill – Weeroona College Bendigo
  • Reloaded – Weeroona College Bendigo
  • Gumbatron – Flora Hill Secondary College
  • Phantom GT – Deakin Uni
  • Mob 1 – Caulfield Park Community School
  • CARcharias – Melbourne Girls’ College
  • Mydas – Melbourne Girls’ College
  • XLR8 – Padua College
  • Ziptar – Maiden Gully PS
  • Tru Blu
  • HP Racing
  • , and

  • Australian Made