The 17th annual Wonthaggi Grand Prix saw a strong field of 90 teams including two interstate teams took to the track for the  for Round 2 of the Victorian HPV Series this year. Tents were pitched whilst camping and pit areas were set up and teams were keen to race for the next 24 hours.

Throughout the weekend weather conditions stayed relatively cool, however true to the normal Wonthaggi conditions a few light showers presented themselves and proved that teams couldn’t have a race without some slippery conditions on the track.

Junior Secondary

Maiden Gully Primary School’s Miss Janey pedals on with taking out first place in the junior secondary class on 332 laps, ahead of their own teammates Ziptar on 302 laps. In third place was St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School’s Shooting Star 288 laps, with a special congratulations to Design and Construction winners Flammin’ Mozzies from Tooradin Primary School.Overall winner of the junior secondary class was Miss Janey from Maiden Gully Primary School.

**Overall winners are determined from points accumulated in both the trial and design and construction.

Middle Secondary

With thirteen entrants across the category it was a tight race between first and second place but it was Horton from Drouin Secondary College on 488 laps that took out first position. With only 4 laps behind it was Bendigo South East’s Buzzard that came into second position on 484 laps. third place getters and winners of Design and Construction UNO from Curose College.Overall winner of the middle secondary class was also received by UNO from Curose College.

Senior Secondary

Fire Breathing Rubber Duckies from Emerald District Education Centre took out a trifecta winning design and construction, the trial and overall win in the senior secondary class on 500 laps, ahead of second place Tin of Bog from Bendigo Senior Secondary College on 488 laps. My Eliza Secondary College’s Hectic came in 3 laps shy and took out third position on 485 laps.

Open Secondary

For the majority of the race the open secondary class had a tight battle on its hands between Zeus from St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School and Asphalt Melter from Woodleigh College. However, strong riders from Woodleigh College stole the overall class win and also taking out Design and Construction finishing on 568 laps a mere 57 seconds ahead of second place getters Zeus from St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School who also finished on 568 laps.  Third place getters went BYO from Caufield Grammar School.

Open Girls

With only four entrants this year it was another win for the girls from St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School’s Ceto receiving first place in the trial and overall open girls class on 509 laps. Hit or Miss from Maiden Gully Community College came into second place with 463 laps as well as winning their design and construction. Third place getters Taurus from St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School came in 22 laps shy of Maiden Gully with 441 laps.


With a field of 18 entrants in the community class it was the Munted Lycra from Bendigo Senior Secondary College who not only smashed the trial on 591 laps, but was also the awarded overall community class winner. Just 5 laps shy of first place came Predator from Instinct Racing on 585 laps whilst third place was awarded to Chiseled from Relentless Racing 531 laps.Special mention to Design and Construction winners Gecko 1 from Gecko Racing!

Elite Community

This year the Wonthaggi Grand Prix introduced a new class that allows manufactures to enter teams against other manufacturing teams. Trial and overall winners of the elite community class was taken out by Tru Blu from Tru Blu Racing with a whopping 673 laps covered in 24 hours smashing the old distance record by 14 laps, an impressive effort by the boys. Second place was was awarded to Trisled Racing’s Aquila on 638 laps whilst third place was taken out by Trump Trikes from Platt Racing on 617 laps. Design and Construction winner went to Ballistic from Deb Gibson.


Trial and overall winners of the Veterans class went to The Ugly from Upper Beaconsfield on 529 laps and just behind them was The Pacemakers on 521 laps from Emerald District Education Community. Third place getters and design and construction winners went to Scorpius from St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School on 498 laps.

A big congratulations to other award winners including:

  • Mark Fidone – Trisled Encouragement Award
  • Black Bin With a Red Lid (Bendigo Senior Secondary College) – Lew Arthur Innovation Award
  • Catch Me (Morwell Park Secondary College) – Parent/Teacher Team

Race official and part organiser Ewan Cole said…

“I would like to thank-you for entering and having a good time, and we’d love to see you all back here next year!”

A big congratulations to all teams who competed over the weekend. The team at the Victorian HPV Series hopes to see you all back at Casey Fields in Cranbourne for Round 3 on October 11th 2014.