Platt Racing at Wonthaggi

Keen race goers took the track for the 18th annual 24 Hour Wonthaggi Grand Prix for the second race of the 2015 Victorian HPV Series. Wonthaggi put on a show for teams with perfect racing conditions over the weekend with sunny skies and light winds. The days of rail, hail and snow were a distant memory.

Check out the Photo Gallery:

It’s on Facebook here >

A big congratulations to special award winners including:

  • St Peter’s College – Trisled Encouragement Award
  • Trump Trikes (Platt Racing) – Lew Arthur Innovation Award
  • Shagged (Maiden Gully Primary School) – Parent/Teacher Team



Please note: Overall winners are determined from points accumulated in both the trial and design and construction.

Junior Secondary

Miss Janey from Maiden Gully Primary School finished strongly from a field of 17 taking out the overall win on 326 laps in 16 hours of racing; ahead of second placed sister team Ziptar, who finished on 382 laps.
Third place went to the Hulk from Beaconsfield Primary School finishing on 273 laps.

Congratulations to Design and Construction winners The Joker from Emerald Primary School.

Middle Secondary

A strong field of 15 teams raced across the middle secondary category with Taurus from St Margaret’s and Berwick Grammar School (SMS/BGS) taking the class win on 459 laps just two laps ahead of Care Factor from Eaglehawk Secondary College finishing on 457 laps. Gremlins Too from Emerald District Education Centre (EDEC) took out third place on 447 laps.

Design and Construction winners in the middle secondary class was taken out by Bendigo South East College.

Senior Secondary

EDEC’s strong team the Fire Breathing Rubber Duckies raced hard throughout the 24 hours finishing on a high 528 laps taking out the trial and class win, plus beating second place-getter Intrepid from Girton Grammar on 494 laps and Zeus from SMS/BGS on 472 laps.

With a fresh coat of paint on their trike it was team Horton from Drouin Secondary College that took out Design and Construction.

Open Secondary

The team Ashphalt Melter from Woodleigh College finished ahead taking out the trial and class on 571 laps a 23 lap difference from second placed Perzeus of SMS/BGS finishing on 548 laps. The third placed – and 2014 RACV Energy Breakthrough trial winners – Grand Theft Mango from Bendigo Senior finished well back on 543 laps.

Shadow Cat from St Peter’s College in Cranbourne took out the award of Design and Construction in this class.

Open Girls

Organisers mentioned the disappointment with only four entrants in this category, but wished to hopefully develop more connections and encouraged more schools to enter all female teams.

Pegasus from SMS/BGS took out the trial and overall win on 502 laps, ahead of second place and Design and Construction winners She’s The Man from Wattle Racing on 466 laps. Third place went to Gremlins from EDEC finishing 371 laps.


With a fairly competitive category with 24 entrants the trial was taken out by interstate visitors SAWAVIC from Relentless Racing finishing on 568 laps ahead of Trisled 1 who finished on 553 laps, also taking out the overall win for community class on the day. Third placed Unhinged from Dirty Mongrel finished 542 laps, 26 laps behind their category winners.

Drouin Secondary College took out Design and Construction in the Community Category.

Elite Community

Elite Community is a class designed for high performance riders to test their abilities against other riders of a high skill level and fitness. Winners of the the trial were Trump Trikes from Platt Racing who finished on 639 laps and were well clear of second placed Toothless from Wattle Racing on 614 laps and Trisled 2 in third and overall category winners on 609 laps.

Design and Construction winners were Darlene from Darlene Racing.

Special mention to Viper from Instinct Racing recording the fastest lap over the weekend a shy 0.17 seconds off the current track record with a time of 1.50.953. Wow! That’s a very fast lap!


A close battle in the Veterans class was taken out by G2 from G2 Racing finishing at the end of the twenty four hours only 2 laps ahead of the second placed Puds Racing on 548 and 546 laps respectively. Third place went to the Pacemakers from EDEC on 523 laps.

Design and Construction winners went to Scorpius from SMS/BGS.

Race official and Lead Organiser Ewan Cole said….

“Thank-you for coming down to Wonthaggi for our event, without competitors, your support and commitment we wouldn’t have an event here every year. A big congratulations to all the winners and I hope you all had a great weekend”

Onwards for 2016…

Mr Cole also mentioned that next year in 2016 the traditional Wonthaggi Grand Prix weekend clashes with Easter and organisers are in the process of selecting a weekend that will be suited for all. Information regarding this after a date has been set will be released accordingly.

The team from the Victorian HPV Series reminds you that the series does go on from here! Our next event on the racing calendar is the 10 Hour Bendigo Grand Prix at the Bendigo Livestock Exchange on 22nd August. Entries are now open.

Other events:

Knox 6 Hour Event – April 26th
Bendigo 10 Hour Event – August 22nd (Round 3)
Casey Fields 6 Hour Event – 11th October (Round 4)

Did someone say human powered vehicle set to a dance track?
Of course you did… here’s one by Harry Mustey:


… and here’s another, this time by Patrick Gretgrix:


… and sure, one more can’t hurt. This one’s by Nick Robinson: